Back to School

Remember the feeling you had as the summer holidays drew to a close? I always had a case of the fidgets. Nervous excitement took over as I micro-planned the first week of school, who I would see again, stories we would swap, new clothes to show-off, stationery to play with etc. The same happens to people in offices and other crayon-free environments after a glorious week off in sunshine. I have no water-cooler banter being self-employed and all but I decided to make the most of my post-holiday buzz and got excited about this blog and my Etsy shop all over again.

In a twist of fate, my glue gun arrived just before our holiday. I made these flower hair barrettes among other little things on a day I abandoned my guests. Shocking hostess behaviour, I know. My adhesive adventure had to wait. I spent many an hour over the last week pointing out the sights of Vienna to our wonderful guests while daydreaming about all the things I could do with my new glue gun. I had difficulty choosing what not to glue.

So I thought I would try and redeem this lampshade with embroidery thread. That got me nowhere.

It was time to exercise caution and burn my fingers. Armed with my granny collection of doilies, one paper lampshade and molten magic, I pieced this together.

Destined to bring light and life, I thought I should share it on Etsy.

Got any ideas for me or have a request for a custom item? Comment below or send me a message. I will be more than happy to try it!

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. missmaudlin says:

    The tree of light and life!

  2. becs says:

    I feel like I’ve been stalking you since you started this blog. Beautiful though. And I LOVE your etsy shop. Just trying to work out which of your many delights I want the most. My favourite so far is this one – http://www.etsy.com/listing/78522122/vintage-doily-covered-lampshade?ref=pr_shop – gorgeous.
    becs

    • ritsya says:

      Stalk away! Glad to know someone’s reading 🙂 I almost didn’t list that lampshade because I loved it too much once it was finished and I turned on the light. It’s the most ‘favourited’ item in my shop. Love your random mix of experiences you write about. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

