Hunger Strikes

 2pm: Hunger strikes and I walk to the fridge. We have some milk, orange juice, a lime, a quarter of a shrivelled lettuce, assorted condiments and a tin of tuna. Who puts a tin of tuna in the fridge?! I snatch it out of that cold, dark place and decide it will be my lunch. I did not proceed to scoff it like a starved neanderthal.

I scour the kitchen cupboards. Nothing instant except teabags. Fun fact: I don’t drink tea and yet I live.

I spot some polenta, pretend it is couscous and get it simmering in a pan of water. 1 part polenta to 4 parts water on low heat. Before I could blink, it is close to sludge consistency. I now pretend it’s a white sauce and keep stirring. I have never seen polenta in anything but a pre-cooked pack so this was very exciting. After about 5 minutes of Italian peasantry, I turned my attention to my motley crew of lunch hopefuls.

A diced clove of garlic spluttered in some olive oil with a grind of salt, pepper, a shake of dried basil and a squeeze of tomato paste. I added the tuna and smiled. Lunch was looking good. I set the polenta gloop in a ramekin and turned it over to enjoy like so.

What are your empty-fridge recipes? Any polenta-themed solutions would be great because I’m now hooked on this simple staple that expands mysteriously.

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Hunger Strikes

  1. Claire L says:

    Omlettes are always a winner.

    Once as well, because we had no milk for ceriel or bread. No car to get food and it was raining heavilly, I decided to make bread for lack of anything else to eat. By this point it was about 1pm, and I was hungry so unfortunately neglected to leave it to rise, meaning it was more on the heavy side, but it worked, and I was definately satisfied.

    Noodles are always a good End-of-your-tether-food too. When you have nothing else but them noodles and soy sauce are awesome.

    • ritsya says:

      I thought I had mastered the whole having enough emergency supplies in the cupboard like basic flour, soy sauce, noodles etc but I see there is much to learn. haha..

  2. bicroce says:

    I make mystery salads with blueberries, feta, all kinds of raw veggies, leftover cold meat, cut up fresh herbs, olive oil and lots of fresh ground pepper–a winner every single time!

Leave a Reply

