Muffin Top

I did my best TV chef impression yesterday, amazing one and all with neatly segregated ingredients ready for demonstration and my utensils all to hand. We were about to put dinner together but we needed an incentive to move from the chatter to actually doing something. Almost as if on cue, fresh blueberry muffins popped out of the oven casually spreading their aroma across the kitchen and possibly making our neighbours jealous. I set them aside saying the magic words, “For later.”

Quickly, we agreed on combining rocket leaves, mango cubes, avocado spheres (thanks watermelon scoop!), sauteed mushroom quarters, finely sliced red onion, diced red pepper, tomato and chunks of feta to top it all off with a sprinkling of chopped walnuts. That was one MEGA salad. To contrast, we had mini pizzas no more than one hand-span across made with love and the best combination of my baking supplies from various German shopping mishaps.

As you can see, I decided to go for the ‘rustic’ pizza look rather than perfect circles. I made the bases with garlic and basil so opted for a smooth slather of unseasoned tomato paste once they were part-baked. My husband finished topping them with peppers, mushrooms, the yummiest salami, onions and tomatoes and a very generous sprinkling of mozzarella so we had MEGA mini pizzas. Note to self: Take over before the cheese stage.

None of our guests complained about the artery-clogging potential this meal had when we eventually wound down to tea and muffins. I deliberately made these muffins ‘skinny’ using half the oil and sugar than a regular recipe would have called for. They were definitely subtly sweet so I might add a teeny bit more sugar next time. I remembered my mother’s trick of using yoghurt instead of milk and they turned out deliciously soft and fluffy which usually means a whole block of butter has gone in.

Here’s what actually went in:

2 large cups of plain flour, 4 teaspoons of baking powder, half a cup of caster sugar and 3 teaspoons of vanilla sugar mixed together. In another bowl, I lightly beat 2 eggs, 1 cup of yoghurt and a third of a cup of vegetable oil. I then folded this into the dry ingredients with 1 cup of washed blueberries and it went in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes at 200ºC. I think I might make a cream cheese frosting to go on top of the leftover muffins but maybe my husband should take over now and I should go swimming, whatever that means.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Muffin Top

  1. Hannah says:

    You’ve inspired me. I’m making muffins today. The only yogurt I have though is this mango/passion fruit stuff. I also have no fruit. Though, if I pull a “Ritsya” I think they should turn out alright! Love you!

    • ritsya says:

      That sounds yum! If you’ve got some apricot / raspberry jam, it would be even yummier! or swirl a teaspoon of nutella in once you’ve served them into the baking cups. Let me know how it goes!

      • Hannah says:

        Oo!! I’ve got blackberry jam (almost whole blackberries made by Ann Koch) and I’ve got raspberry. Sweet!

  2. these look amazing! im no good at baking but i love the decorating part. i did some recently, let me know what you think?
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/08/27/to-your-posts-let-the-bake-off-begin/

  3. Julia says:

    don’t tell me that this is what I missed out on?!?!? GOODNESS…Ritsya…you really outdid yourself!!! I just love how creative you get when it comes to food!! can’t wait for the next time 😉

  4. […] buttery avocado onto my bed of lettuce and tomato and it looks good enough to eat. But hark! My TV chef alter-ego wants to come out to play. So I drizzle some Greek blossom honey in an elaborate pattern quickly […]

Leave a Reply

