Homemade Wins

As our lives get busier, eating healthily slips from the can-do pile onto the list of must-dos. Carving out time to make nutritious and balanced meals is good for so many reasons and yet I find myself resorting to pasta pesto or even worse, a kebab from a corner stand dripping with grease and things I will only regret later. There has to be a solution.

Working out a system of cooking meals in bulk and freezing them has saved us time, money and energy whenever we actually do it. Sadly, I do find myself daydreaming about what I could make for dinner on the way home from work. Organisation and efficiency can take the fun and joy out of cooking sometimes but if what you make ahead of time rocks, then you won’t miss the spontaneous creation so much.

One thing that really works is marinating meat and freezing to roast when you’re ready. I made some meatballs [500g mince, 1/2 red onion diced, 50g breadcrumbs, a squeeze or two of tomato puree, soy sauce, pepper, chilli powder and 3 cloves of garlic finely diced] for a dinner we had with friends the other day and saved the remaining mixture to enjoy another time. It didn’t make it to the freezer. Baked burgerettes with salad, leftover potato and broccoli and squash for Sunday lunch? Don’t mind if I do. Better than pub grub and better for my body by a mile.

 

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Homemade Wins

  1. Barbara Isaac says:

    I am also rediscovering my crock pot! I put a thawed pork shoulder roast and a bag of saurkraut in mine this morning and right now, the aroma is more than I can stand! I’ll just slice some tomatoes with that and make a small amount of mashed potatoes. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

