Home of the Big Beard

Beautiful even at -15 C

I have officially been to Bratislava in every season now and can confidently say it is worth a day-trip even in the depths of winter. This lovely little capital city captured my heart the first time I walked down its cobbled streets and it hasn’t stopped charming me since. The complete contrast between the ‘old town’ and the new-ish suburbia is startling at first but, like a well-loved book, once you get past the tatters, you find the treasure.

Mr. Slovakia

Case in point: Recently, I attended a conference in Bratislava at a primary school and spotted a familiar face in a bookcase. There was no mistaking the stunning beard and the kindly expression. I took a picture to do some sleuthing later on. Lo and behold! A little gander over the internets revealed some interesting facts.

1. That  fine gentleman is Ľudovít Štúr.

2. He pretty much invented the Slovak language. Invented.

3. He is worth reading more on. He was a big deal.

The namesake.

AND 4. My favourite cafe (possibly in the whole world) is named after this guy. It is one of the main reasons why I keep going back to this town. It never disappoints. The best food is served by the nicest people who look after you like a cool aunt would. Mothery but not smothery.

The decor, to me, is the perfect mix of sophistication and cosiness. A blend of masculine and feminine, IKEA and haute couture, old and new. My ever-editing brain is content and has nothing bad to say. This might seem over the top but I hope you get to go and see for yourself.

Taste and see that it is good.

There are few things more deal-making/breaking than dessert. If their cheesecake magic doesn’t work, I declare you alien. This photo was taken in spring/summer 2011 on our fourth visit to Shtoor’s ‘Homemade Cafe’. In one day.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Home of the Big Beard

  1. Amma says:

    Certainly a must-do place, when in Austria!!

  2. You are absolutely right! Shtoor is one of the best cafe I have ever been :)))
    I am right now in Bratislava learning Slovak! Very tough and demanding, but also incredibly beautiful!

Leave a Reply

