Rocky Road

Image

I’m ok with my life being a series of ups punctuated with downs. It wasn’t until recently that I began to appreciate the downs. They allow me to learn, re-evaluate and get climbing again. Anyone who has tried to learn anything will know that it’s hardest to get started. For me, a real low gets my head into gear and motivates me to try again, to shift out of the complacency that got me there in the first place.

Whether it’s my relationship with my husband, wider family, my job, my friendships, my desire to create, take pictures or blog, I find that my level of effort waxes and wanes much like the moon. I can’t realistically give 100% to everything all the time but there are a few things, important things, that I’d like to try to be consistently good at. This means putting in effort, climbing and enjoying the scenery along the way. Not just at the top.

Recently, I’ve been enjoying the scenery along the way by increasing my teaching hours, timing my lesson prep, finding out which type of cereal bar I like (Corny’s Almond and White Chocolate bar has maximum yum-factor with the least healthy advantage), washing up as a present to my husband, joining a German conversation class, making things for babies popping up around me and training for a marathon that only my husband and I will run.

Baking up sweet treats is tricky right now so I have resorted to goodies of the no-bake variety. Rocky Road is great when you’re stretched for time but still want something yummilicious to share.

  • Heat 100g of butter in a saucepan with 200g of dark chocolate (broken into pieces) and 2 generous tablespoons of runny honey.
  • Chop up 100g of biscuits (I just used whatever was to hand; a mix of chocolate chip and rich tea), shove ’em in the chocolatey mixture and fold till they’re coated.
  • Finally, add 80-90g of marshmallows (it took me what felt like an eternity to rip up the big sticky ones so it’s best to use mini-marshmallows), stir and turn the whole lot into a cake tin, spatula-ing the glob into a circle.
  • I used a silicone cake form (no need to grease!), shoved it in the freezer for about 40 minutes and cut into wedges to serve. 
Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Rocky Road

  1. you are so right… the downs show us what is really worth fighting for!

  2. I adore rocky road – I just had some on my way home from work, it was gorgeous 😀

  3. Tom Koruthu says:

    Did u forget to mention the almond flakes topping?

  4. Amma says:

    Right parent relating is at an abysmal low….haven’t spoken to our delight in ages!!

Leave a Reply

