Better Together

20120319-225008.jpg

The last few days have been heavy on the milestone-making and light on the mundane. The highlight of them all was the birth of my nephew on Friday. What affected me most was the tidal wave of support and encouragement produced for the parents-to-be. It was stunning to see how they got through the long and exhausting labour together. Personal victories are much better shared and better yet are the shared victories.

Today, my husband and I went through our wedding photos with some friends,
re-living our happy celebration exactly one year on. I was enjoying reminiscing of course but it was fantastic to share the completion of one exciting year of married life with new friends. Friends who I couldn’t imagine knowing a mere 365 days ago.

20120319-231101.jpg

There are places I want to go and new experiences I want to have but more often than not, I have no clue where or how it will be. The constants in my life take the fear out of the unknown and replace it with anticipation and excitement. I would like to Vespa across Europe, for example, but only with the love of my life. Colour-coordination is par for the course.

20120319-232325.jpg

There are some things that are great by themselves and there are others that are better together. Recently, I found this strange and wonderful combination of strawberry and pineapple preserve in one of my all-time favourite shops and I keep telling myself that I must give it a try. I don’t know how the combo works but it definitely looks interesting and experience-stretching. Two fairly normal fruits might just be perfect put together. Without insulting my husband too much with the fruit analogy, I feel blessed to be with someone so different. I think we’re better together.

20120319-233412.jpg

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Better Together

  1. Great post! Love you guys.

  2. Amma says:

    How true, how true!!

  3. Haha I like the almost-offensive fruit analogy. Fantastic to hear of such a happy young couple, keep it up!

  4. katyarich says:

    Lovely pictures, I’ve got the same white vespa, 300cc with a big wind brake…..I just love it, goes really fast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

